French Onion Soup with Gruyere Cheese


Happy Thursday Everyone! It’s time to plan my Friday meal and I’ve always wanted to try the classic French Onion Soup. It is my husband’s favorite and I know it will be a hit.  With all the cooking that I do, one would think I would have tackled this recipe, but no.  The last time I had this soup of complete French bliss was in Paris, and it’s kind of hard to top that, but here I go.  It was a toss up between Ina Garten’s recipe for French Onion Soup or Julia Child’s version.  Yes, yes, I know what you are thinking, no brainer right? Ok, Julia wins, and I’ll write about how my soup turned out over the weekend. I’m pretty sure Julia never used a CrockPot, but this mother of two is going to have to.  Add a big trans-atlantic move on the way, and I just don’t have the time to sit over a pot for a few hours.  The upside? Getting all my groceries here in Europe, especially the Gruyere cheese. Ahh, the joys of living in Europe.  Julia, don’t fail me now.  -Christine

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/cooking-live/french-onion-soup-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

