Weekend Wrap-Up…Only a day late


This past weekend was very relaxing. I had my Thai experiment on Friday night, which I wrote about in my “Tom Yum Goong Experiment”. I paired the soup with my Shrimp Pad Thai recipe, which was very tasty after I added more sugar and chiles than necessary.
Saturday started out with Lemon Cornmeal Pancakes (http://gourmetanise.com/2011/08/21/lemon-cornmeal-pancakes/) and later, we were invited to my friend Jenny’s house for a Japanese/Korean fusion dinner. I made California rolls and Jenny made Bulgogi beef. Jenny is a phenomenal cook and every dish she makes is amazing. My California rolls were a hit among the men, but since Jenny doesn’t care for seaweed, she did not go for the sushi. After dinner, I prepared peppermint bark (http://gourmetanise.com/2012/01/12/peppermint-bark/) because Jenny’s husband, a big fan of the dessert, was just promoted and as a little gift, I thought, “What better way to say Congratulations than CHOCOLATE!”
So, I left it in the freezer and we left early since Elias, my eldest son, was getting a little too toddler crazy.
Fast forward to Sunday with Spaghetti and TURKEY Meatballs for dinner. My friend Lisa makes the best Turkey Meatballs in Tomato Sauce. I called her up and got some tips, but although it didn’t measure up to hers, it was still tasty. Lisa puts barbecue sauce in her meatballs, and if I did that, it would end up as a Southern dish as opposed to an Italian one. There are certain little tricks that I just can’t do and I leave it to the people who are pros at their signature dish like Lisa.

Since I’m having problems uploading the picture, I will post my Turkey Meatball recipe tomorrow along with a picture.

Tonight, I made Pulled Pork in the Pressure Cooker for the second time and I’m ready to share. I will post these two recipes tomorrow since WordPress is giving me trouble with uploading pictures this evening.

Have a great week everyone!
Don’t forget to share with me any recipes that worked for you or what you did to make your dish a success!

-Christine

2 comments

Leave a Reply

