My Tom Yum Goong Experiment-Part 1


On Friday night, I wrote about making Tom Yum Goong and experimenting with my newfound ingredients, kaffir lime leaves, lemongrass, and galangal root. Tom Yum Goong is a great soup to make if you have a sore throat or you feel a cold coming on because the chiles and the lime really help clear you up.
First, Kaffir Lime leaves really do smell exactly like you are boiling a cut lime, but they are what gives Tom Yum Goong that kick. The Galangal root and lemongrass add to the wonderful aroma, but also are quite hard to chew. I need to make this soup again because I followed the recipe from templeofthai.com and would like to do a couple of things differently before I post my version of the soup on Gourmet Anise.
These are the steps I would change:

1. After boiling the soup with all the ingredient (except for shrimp), pour the soup through a strainer to separate the broth from the lemongrass, galangal root, and lime leaves. This way, you just have broth and can add cilantro and shrimp after. If you would like to leave the lemongrass, make sure to cut it in large pieces because it’s hard to pick around small pieces.

2. Add jumbo sized, not medium, shrimp at the end and do not allow the shrimp to cook more than it needs to because they will shrink to half their size.

3. Serve with fresh cilantro at the end.

I was told by the lady at the Asian store that the galangal root can be frozen and used later. I will try making Tom Yum Goong this weekend with the changes I listed above and let you know how it turns out.

I’d love to hear from you and if you have ever made this soup from scratch.
Please send me a message or comment on this post if you have any tips for me…

How do you make Tom Yum Goong soup?

-Christine

Leave a Reply

