Oscar Weekend Wrap Up


This past weekend I hosted a dinner with some friends, and the food was the icing on the cake. Good company seems to always make the meal more enjoyable.
Josh and Kristin expressed their love of Lebanese food, and so the menu included Baked Kibbi or Kibbeh (Kibbi bi Saneah), Green Bean Stew (Loubia B’Zeit), Tabouleh, Rice, and of course, Hummus. This was my third time making the Kibbi, and I was a little nervous, but it came out great because everyone went for seconds. If you have never had Baked Kibbi before, it is like a Lebanese meatloaf.
I’m posting two new recipes to Gourmet Anise, Baked Kibbi and Lebanese Green Beans (Loubia B’Zeit), and you can find them under the Mediterranean menu under Recipes by Cuisine. Loubia B’Zeit can be eaten with pita bread or served with rice. My mother likes to use fresh green beans, and I will have to try that recipe another time and although this is a gourmet website, for the most part, I’m bending the rules by using frozen green beans. When your a new mom, sometimes you need to take a shortcut to still enjoy a dish that you love or you may never make it. The main dish and side dish were completed, but now, I needed a salad for this meal and what better dish than Tabouleh. The only problem that I had was with the tomatoes because at this time of the year, the tomatoes aren’t that great here in Germany. As I’ve said before, tomatoes are the key component of Tabouleh. Why? THE JUICE! It’s all about the juicy tomatoes.
With Kibbi, Loubia, and Tabouleh completed, the rice and yogurt salad were the last dishes to prepare. Leave these for last so you have hot rice, but if you want to prepare the yogurt salad early, you can. The Cucumber Yogurt salad (Laban) is easy. Here is the recipe:

Khyar Bi Laban (Yogurt salad with cucumbers)
1 cup of plain yogurt
1/4 cup of chopped seedless cucumber
1 tablespoon of fresh mint, finely chopped
1 clove of garlic, minced
salt to taste
1/2 teaspoon of onion powder

I wasn’t able to take a picture of the salad close up, but next time, I will. Here is a picture of all the dishes served family style:

For Dessert, Kristin brought Oreo truffles, a recipe she got from http://www.chef-in-training.com/2011/11/no-bake-oreo-truffles.html. There is also a recipe at http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/easy-oreo-truffles-95085.aspx. We started with about 20 of them and as you can see, there are only a handful left after the first round of indulgence. Here is a picture just before my husband got a hold of them and luckily, I was able to eat a couple of them because this was taken right before my husband went for round two.

These truffles were TO DIE FOR! I crave them every night since I’ve had them. So much for the diet…
It’s a good thing Kristin brought these because I chickened out on making K’nafeh bi Jibn, a Lebanese dessert. I have never made it, but it’s a very unique dish. It’s made with Semolina, Cream of Wheat, and Cheese, and of course, BUTTER. It is then topped with this sweet syrup that is absolutely amazing. I will make this some time in the next couple of weeks and post the recipe, that is, if it comes out good.

All in all, it was a great night. The company was great. The food was a success, and the kids played well. This was also the very first time I had all the food ready, and so I was able to enjoy the company, and what a difference that makes. 😉

You can find all the recipes mentioned under Mediterranean recipes on the website under Recipes by Cuisine.

Until the next “Weekend Wrap Up”, have a great week and keep cooking. Even if you have to take some shortcuts, I won’t tell if you won’t.

Christine

One comment

Leave a Reply

